Consider The Bush Morning Glory

I enjoy using a mix of annuals and perennials, as well as annuals that tend to reseed and come back each year, in my containers and hanging baskets.  There is one plant that my mother grows in her garden, and I have also grown it in mine that I’d like to recommend to you, and that is the Bush Morning Glory.  You usually won’t find these plants available for sale at a gardening center, and thus you will likely need to start the seed inside yourself, but it is not hard to do.  I buy my seeds from Renee’s Garden, a seed line that is usually available from Portland Nursery locally, or else you can purchase them online.  The particular variety of bush morning glory is called ‘Royal Blue Ensign’.

This year, I started my bush morning glory seeds indoors in Sunshine organic seed starting mix, under lights, on February 15th, and the seed germinated on February 22nd.  I grew the seedlings on under lights, giving them a half-strength feeding of Miracle Grow every couple of weeks or so.  I hardened them off in a protected spot starting on May 7th.  They were ready to plant outside in my containers at a small transplant stage by May 15th.  I saw my first beautiful blooms on them by June 24th. 

I love the brilliant royal blue, with the bright yellow and crisp white in the throat area–it sets a very nautical tone, and thus the name.  Here it grows alongside a little daisy-like feverfew, which echos its colors and diminutive size of bloom.

Here it is in a grouping of containers:

It snuggles in nicely with a red-with-green-edged coleus and nasturtium foliage in the back container, more feverfew, fern, a black mondo grass, and a ‘Midnight Reiter’ hardy geranium with my beloved chocolate foliage and lavender flower.

This is an annual that could work in a number of different color arrangements–imaging it flowing out of a pristine white urn, for example, or giving  patriotic flair to a bright red squatty container.  It could be used in containers set around a patio or balcony with a beachy theme–imaging it in a bright container near a water setting, like a lakeside cabin or even placed around a water feature.  All beautiful, and so is this favorite of annuals! 

Do you grow this annual in your garden, or remember seeing it in another garden?  How is your garden and containers growing this year–I’d love to hear in the comments.  And visit the garen party.

 

6 Comments

  1. Melinda said,

    July 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I’ve never heard of a bush morning glory – but it is so pretty!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 20, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      Thank you–I’m grateful to my mom, who introduced me to this cool little annual!

  2. Beth said,

    July 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I love the shocking blue of your containers – container gardening is such fun – you can experiment on a micro-scale at little cost!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      I totally agree with the container gardening. And the containers actually match the accent color of the house, so it helps to tie the house to the garden landscape, and I just like the color!

  3. July 21, 2011 at 1:05 am

    I love growing Ensigns. I usually forget that I’ve planted them until their blossoms surprise me. And they’re so well-mannered for a morning glory!

  4. Green Bean said,

    July 21, 2011 at 5:45 am

    Oh it is SO pretty! I’ve never seen one before. Very very tempting.


Leave a Reply

