My $9 Birdbath

You know how you go to yard sales or flea markets, and something just calls out to you?  Well, that happened to me with a plant stand a couple of months ago.  Now, I didn’t really need another plant stand, but it was a good study metal one, and I picked it up for $9, which is pretty inexpensive.  I brought it home, and this is what I turned it into:

The new birdbath!

The individual components were:

The plant stand turned birdbath stand

A plain black metal plant stand.  Once I got it home, I realized that it would need a pretty big container to actually fit into the top of the stand, and once that container was filled with dirt and plants it would be heavy, and it seemed to me that it would tip over pretty easily, so I decided to repurpose it into a birdbath instead.  I didn’t want to spend any more money on this project, so I rummaged around the garage and found some paint, and gave it a coat of turquoise, so it goes with my other outdoor chairs and containers.

The birdbath pan

Then I looked around my potting shed for something that would work for the birdbath basin.  I’ve had pretty birdbaths in the past that have tipped over and the basin has broken, so I wanted something that could take a fall and hopefully survive.  What I found was a plastic container drain pan that I picked up at a yard sale a while back for maybe 50 cents, so I had that already as well, and it fit!  I made it a little more stable by adding a rock to the center.  I may splurge and get some of those polished glass stones in turquoise and clear color from Dollar Tree to go with the rock to add a little bling to the bottom of the basin when you look inside.

I like it, and I like that it was very inexpensive to make a cool garden accessory, as well as quite quick and easy to do.  I put it into the garden, and enjoy looking at it as I walk by daily on the garden path.

Birdbath with the Garden Fairy.

What is new in your garden–do share in the comments below.  Have you repurposed inexpensive items that now live in your garden?  I’d love to hear about it in the comments section!

 

11 Comments

  1. Beth said,

    July 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    What a clever birdbath – FYI – no idea about variety of red lilies on my post – sorry!

  2. July 13, 2011 at 1:09 am

    What a gorgeous garden you have! Looks like the perfect place to get lost in!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 13, 2011 at 2:38 am

      Thank you–it is a great place to hang out!

  3. Dee said,

    July 13, 2011 at 3:45 am

    Very pretty and simple little bird bath! I wish I had a “path” in my garden to walk somewhere and see something like this on it. No paths in my garden. I’m working on a new flower bed corner though. 🙂

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 13, 2011 at 4:15 am

      I’d love to see a picture of your new flower bed when it’s ready!

  4. Joani said,

    July 13, 2011 at 3:46 am

    Sometimes at Goodwill they have the rocks that someone has taken….maybe the 99 cent store. I have a bird bath that the top was cracked. I turned it upside down on the stand and put a resin terracotta pan on top with a large frog in the middle….and wala….bird water. Thanks for sharing.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 13, 2011 at 4:16 am

      That is clever–I love the idea of the frog in the pan!

  5. Mrs. Petrie said,

    July 13, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Thanks for visiting Casa Petrie. What a garden!! It’s so lush and beautiful.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 13, 2011 at 5:48 pm

      Thank you!

  6. Cheryl B. said,

    July 13, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    It looks really great! I have been gone for medical appointments so I pulled up some dead plants and tossed them! I watered everything last night when we got home from San Francisco. Everything looks good though!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      July 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Yeah, that is tough when you have to be gone, but I’m glad things are looking good. Hope you’re feeling well.


Leave a Reply

