Down The Garden Path

Sorry I haven’t been posting as much as I usually do–I took a spill down some cement stairs and did a number on my foot, so I’ve been out of commission for a while.  However, I got out to the garden today, and snapped a few photos for your enjoyment.  Come with me, if you will, down the garden path . . .

The roses have made a grand appearance (just in time for Portland’s Rose Festival):

‘Phylis Bide’ repeat-blooming rambling rose dresses up the entrance to our home.

“I’m ready for my closeup, Mr. DeMille . . .”

Graham joins the party . . .

‘Graham Thomas’, a David Austin rose, on a blue arbor.  And in for the closeup . . .

As you can see, I have a thing for cabbage roses.

And now . . .

The thornless climber, ‘Zephrin Drouhin’.

I love that this rose does not scratch my arms to smithereens when I prune it.

This is a lovely single-blooming climbing rose that my mom gave to me.  I have no idea of its name or origins, but I can tell you that it is a very tough customer–it survives my parent’s zone 4b climate and thrives there.

And now hail to the chief . . .

‘Mr. Lincoln’, to be precise. 

Farther down the garden path . . .

A vibrant, summer blue delphinium with allium heads about to bloom nearby.

Persian Jewels in a pathway consisting of gravel and bear-paw metal stepping stones left by previous owners.

Three sisters, probably a singing trio like the Garland Sisters, the Boswell Sisters, or the Andrews Sisters, holding court in the golden creeping  jenny.

‘Romantika’ clematis gets in the mood with Golden Hops.

Getting tired?  We can sit for a bit . . .

Just the place to be for flower and bird watching.

Is it time already?  As the lyricist said, ” Ah well, we’ll catch up some other time.”

The garden fairy says goodbye.

 


7 Comments

  1. allysgrandma said,

    June 14, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    Lovely….my things are growing, but my lupus flare is keeping me from doing much at this point.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      June 15, 2011 at 1:03 am

      I’m glad that your plants are growing well, but sorry to hear you are not feeling well. Hope you feel better very soon!

  2. Debbi said,

    June 15, 2011 at 1:37 am

    oh, your garden tour was a real treat! I wish my Zephirine rose looked as nice as yours, but mine is only a couple years old–but still need to keep her roped in or she will take over the place!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      June 15, 2011 at 3:06 am

      That is so true. I bought mine bare-root, and it looked so small and wimpy at first, but then watch out–she got big fast! I am hiding a view with this rose, so I don’t prune it back as hard as I could, but it wouldn’t hurt to prune it back a bit more than I usually do.

  3. Beth said,

    June 15, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I hope you used your “Down Time” to just sit and enjoy your amazing garden! Wow! You aske what Xera used as a potting mixture…I have no idea, but you can contact them @ 503.612.9950. Hope that helps

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      June 15, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      Thank you!

  4. debbie said,

    June 18, 2011 at 12:11 am

    love following you down the path!!

    debbie


Leave a Reply

