Flowers and Food

A quick post to show you a bit of what we got done over the warm and wonderful (and dry) weekend:

First the food part (future food, I should add) of the gardening weekend:

We prepared and planted a Swiss Chard, Beet and Spinach bed.  My earlier hardy salad greens bed that I put in back in March is about ready to start picking greens at the baby stage, and the lettuce bed I put in last week is looking good and starting to put down some roots.  We also put in some peas and I am trying this pea trellis I saw in Fine Gardening magazine, made out of some sticks and twine:

The peas are not super heavy, so hopefully this will be enough support for them–we’ll see how it works.

And now the flowers:

These are some tough English Daisies that I started inside from seed several years ago.  They are growing in a container, and I didn’t cover the container or anything over the winter, and when it starts to warm up, there they are.  I love the rings and gradiations of color in these.

‘Queen of the Night” tulips are some of my favorite.  (Always reminds me of her solo in The Magic Flute.)  I like the contrast in color with the silvery-grey lamb’s ears.  Anthriscus silvestris “Ravenswing’ is the dark foliage on the left, and behind the tulips are some blue irises that are putting out some flower buds.

And I guess this last one could be considered both flowers and future food:

Our crabapple treee is blooming now, as is the ‘Barlett’ pear tree and several other apples about to bloom.  Along with the crabapple blossoms is a sea of blue Forget-me-nots, and a couple of parrot tulips–pink ‘Angelique’ and a purply-blue double.  I discovered that the late parrot tulips bloom at the same time as the apple and pear trees, and so they make a nice plant combination together in the garden.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend out in your garden–let me know in the comments if you wish!  And please visit the Garden Party.


8 Comments

  1. May 4, 2011 at 1:47 am

    Hello, stopping by from an Oregon Cottage, your garden is lovely.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      May 4, 2011 at 2:39 am

      Well, thank you so much!

  2. Beth said,

    May 4, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Queen of the Night Tulips – how Regal and stately!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      May 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      I love that dark purply-black color!

  3. May 6, 2011 at 1:35 am

    Beautiful start to gardening season! Love your pea trelis!!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      May 6, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      Thanks–I am going to take note of how well it actually holds up as the peas grow and grow up it. I hope it works because it was really inexpensive to put together.

  4. yan3 said,

    June 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I see you had the pea plant progressing pictures, this is my first year to plant sugar snap peas, it growed now about 5 ft high, but there is no bloom, no single flower now, I am wondering if it is possible I did something wrong and does not get any pea at all.

    How long it takes for pea to bloom?

    Thank you, I love your pea trellis, simple, easy and economic…

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      June 4, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      Last year I planted my peas on March 27th, and they were flowering around approximately June 10th, so it took about 70 days for them to flower from planting. They were producing peas on June 22nd.

      I would say just wait a bit longer–they should flower anytime now. It might also depend on the growing conditions you have–are they getting enough sunlight, or too much? If they are producing a lot of green vine and not a lot of flowers, it might mean they were given a nitrogen-heavy fertilizer at some point, because nitrogen produces greenery. I have also read, and it makes sense, that peas need phosphorus to produce a good crop but not excessive nitrogen; they produce their own. Peas are a legume, and produce nitrogen nodes on their roots, and some people, farmers, plant them for a cover crop that gets dug into the ground at the end of the growing season.

      Hope this helps! And good luck!


Leave a Reply

