In Bloom Today!

Just a few photos from this warm late winter, dare I say it, early spring day:

 

This is yellow crocus, a few winter aconite, and the dark chocolate foliage of Anthiscus silvestrus “Ravenswing.”   Tulip foliage as well, but no flowers there yet.

Just a mix of crocus–it looks like the Easter Bunny’s basket exploded!  I love how the orange stamens contrast so nicely with the lavenders, purples and whites.

An unnamed hellebore that I picked up from the Master Gardener’s Plant Sale several years ago.  I love the rosey hues and gradiations of color that this flower offers. 

Across from the hellebore, I just put in yesterday an early salad greens little bed. 

This is what it looks like opened.  No germination yet, but I only planted it yesterday.

Some deep purple mini iris, a little shot of blue scilla in the front, with a dwarf golden evengreen on the left.

A favorite early flowering combination:  ‘Pickwick’ crocus with ‘Tete-A-Tete’ miniature narcissus.  There were the first bees that I’ve seen this year buzzing all around the crocus.  A little clump of forget-me-nots, not yet in bloom.

‘Flower Power’ crocus on the sidewalk that leads to one of the doors of the house.

What’s blooming in your garden?  Leave me a comment.

And while you’re at it, visit Jamie’s Garden Party.

12 Comments

  1. Tracie said,

    March 9, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    love seeing garden posts like yours-mean’s spring is coming!!!! cannot wait…..i love those cute little iris’s. i remember planting some of those here in the northwest but thier blooms only lasted about two days. how long do yours last? xoox
    ~tracie

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      March 9, 2011 at 6:45 pm

      I found that it varies depending upon how much rain we get–some of the little bulb flowers just kind of dissolve in lots of rain–and if the slugs get to them. Early on I put Sluggo out around the bulbs, and this helped quite a bit. But in general, the flowers last in the garden for 3-4 weeks or so, sometimes longer.

  2. Melinda said,

    March 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I’m just soaking in the colors and the life in your garden! My front yard is still covered with a fresh layer of snow!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      March 12, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Ahhh–I hope your weather warms up soon for you!

  3. Shannan said,

    March 10, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    I’m going to start following your blog – you seem like a great gardener. I’m putting my salad beds in next week. You are inspiration!!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      March 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm

      (blushing) Why, thank you! There is all types of gardening information and pictures in my blog archive.

  4. Beth said,

    March 11, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Your crocus are a bit ahead of mine – the blooms have appeared, but not yet opened – isn’t spring wonderful?

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      March 12, 2011 at 7:24 pm

      I do love spring as well!

  5. Bridget said,

    March 14, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Love your pics, so bright and cheery. Weather here is cold at moment but set to improve.

  6. Bridget said,

    March 15, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Love your pics. Great colours in your garden, so vibrant.

  7. March 15, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Ah, you’re on top of it with the salad bed! Alas, not I. My goal now is next week during Spring Break when I’ll have some time off from school…but you’ve definitely inspired me. 🙂

    • March 16, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      It’s been so very rainy here that those little seeds are sitting and sulking under the plastic, but eventually they will germinate for me! And you’ve inspired me, because I got a lot of good timing tips from your master gardening list–I just adjust it because I am about two weeks behind your schedule due to a little bit colder climate here.


Leave a Reply

