Tomatoes Starting To Turn Red!

Finally, there are some tomatoes that are starting to turn red out in the garden!  They are really more at an orange stage, but still, I will take what I can get.  Surprisingly, it is the ‘Costoluto Genovese’ and ‘San Marzano’ tomatoes that are ripening earlier than the cherry tomatoes ‘Gardeners’ Delight,’ which is unusual–usually the cherry tomatoes ripen first.  This is the first season that I’ve tried ‘Gardeners’ Delight,’ and their claim to fame is that, unlike the ‘Super Sweet 100s’ that I have grown in the past, they are just as prolific but do not split, a decided advantage.  ‘Costoluto’ and ‘San Marzano’ are my go-to tomato plants for reliable yields.  ‘Costoluto Genovese’ has usually rumpled shoulders and ripens at about the same time as ‘Early Girl,’ while ‘San Marzano’ is an oval tomato sort of like a ‘Roma’ but at least in my garden much more prolific than ‘Roma.’  It is a great paste tomato, and I usually dry them and store in plastic bags for the winter, or make them into a simple tomato sauce that I freeze in pint-sized plastic containers.

To whet your appetite, here are some pictures from seasons past:

This is ‘Costoluto Genovese’ from two years ago.

This was the Sept. 1st, first harvest from two years ago.  This is a collection ‘Costoluto Genovese,’ ‘ San Marzano’ tomatoes, some ‘Super Sweet 100’ cherry tomatoes, a green ‘Marconi’ sweet Italian pepper, a light green or yellow ‘Gypsy’ sweet pepper and my favorite eggplant, ‘Nadia,’ in the front, and a few fall-bearing raspberries mixed in.  Princess Jasmine the cat makes an appearance as well.

How is your garden growing?  Let me know in the comments!

Please also visit Tuesday’s Garden Party at Jami’s Oregon Cottage Blog.

 

 


6 Comments

  1. Beth said,

    August 24, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Yumm! Late August is all about fresh tomatoes!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Fantastic!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      Yes it is!

  2. zentMRS said,

    August 24, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    My tomatoes are just starting to grow – I’m jealous of your ripening tomatoes!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 25, 2010 at 4:01 am

      It has been a long wait this year, hasn’t it? I’ve been resorting to buying a few at the local farmers’ market just to satisfy my tomato urges.

  3. August 30, 2010 at 2:39 am

    It’s sure a weird tomato year. I had a bunch (that I wrote about) and I’ve had only about a basket since then- not even enough to make a batch of salsa yet. Ugh. I haven’t heard of the Costoluto before- I’ll have to try that one next year as I’m always looking or reliable ones!
    Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

