Tuesday Garden Update

I’m super busy right now, and will be until the middle of September.  I will try to continue to add some brief posts as I can.

Here are a couple of flower pictures from the garden:

This is what I called my “Lone Wolf” sweet pea (remember Lenny “One Wolf” and Squiggy?).  It is blooming during 95+ degree weather–go figure.  There are some light lavender ones that bloomed after this photo was taken as well.  I love sweet peas–so very pretty and delicate flowers.

Just a pretty hydrangea growing on the side of the house.  I love to use them as cut flowers for a quick and easy arrangement during the summer months.  This was planted by previous owners prior to our moving in here, so I have no idea what the specific variety is, but I like it and it is hardy in PNW garden zone 8.

I have a lovely hibiscus ‘Sweet Caroline’ that I am anxiously waiting to bloom.  It has gigantic hot pink flowers, and is wonderful to see in the declining August beds, so I will try to remember to post a picture of it when it starts blooming.

As for the vegatable garden:  I have lots of green tomatoes, but no red ones yet.  I’ve picked about three little batches of ‘Royal Burgundy’ bush beans so far, and they are lovely and tender and prolific here.  Runner beans are starting to produce little bitty runner beans.  I had lettuce starts outside hardening off, and then this hot weather hit, so I took a few losses there–I need to plant them out when it cools off a bit later this week.  Corn is tasseling up nicely.  Potatoes are producing some of the first new potatoes of the season.  I could eat them all now at this stage, but am trying to be patient and wait for a bigger crop.  I have four nice green peppers–just waiting for them to ripen and turn red before I pick them.  Pumpkins are producing massive vines and several little baby pumpkins.  I have a squash that popped up out of nowhere on its own, and it will likely produce something that is not edible but will be great for autumn decorating, which is cool.  The late-season raspberries are putting out lots of green and pink berries–will be ready in a couple of weeks, maybe.   Lots of basil to use now, and dill is about ready to start using as well. 

The hummingbirds have been buzzing around the garden.  They like the liatris, verbena bonariensis, nasturtiums and petunias in my hanging baskets, an orange crocosmia now in bloom, the last few Lamb’s Ears flowers and other butterfly bushes that are blooming, plus the feeder that I put out for them.

How is your garden growing?  Leave me a comment–I’m always interested to hear how your gardens are doing!

Please visit Oregon Cottage Blog’s Tuesday Garden Party.

 


16 Comments

  1. August 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Your hydrangea’s are beautiful! Your garden sounds like it is doing very also, next year I’m definitely going to plant beans and maybe even some corn.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 17, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      Beans are quite easy to grow, so go for it. They also have really pretty flowers in colors like red and purple, some varieties. This is the best I’ve done with corn thus far in my gardening experience, so we’ll see what happens.

  2. August 17, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    I wish we could grow hydrangeas that easily here. I’m trying to be patient with my potatoes too, but it’s hard! I want to start digging them so badly, lol.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

      I know–I dug up 5 new potatoes the other day to make some homemade clam chowder, and it was so good with the fresh potatoes from the garden!

  3. zentMRS said,

    August 17, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Oh my goodness – gorgeous hydrangeas! I keep thinking that I should plant them. Maybe next year… 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 18, 2010 at 3:31 am

      You are welcome!

  4. Alea said,

    August 18, 2010 at 8:16 am

    The hydrangea is beautiful! I have tried growing them here, without luck. Just may have to give it one more go…

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      In Pacific Northwest garden zone 8, I have mine planted on the side of the house where they get morning sun and afternoon shade, and it seems to suit them.

  5. August 18, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I have many hydrangeas here, too…alas all I want are pinks and purples but what I get are bright blues. That’s life. 🙂 I don’t have the time or patience to deal with trying to change the soil, so I just deal…

    Thanks for sharing at the Tuesday Garden Party- I hope you find enough time to enjoy your garden!

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 19, 2010 at 1:26 am

      I hope I get to enjoy it as well–I’m pretty well slammed until the middle of next month–but I will find time to pick the first ripe tomatoes and cukes!

  6. Heather said,

    August 18, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    I am patiently (?) awaiting tomatoes and corn as well… and you are right, I am sure the chicks would love to get their little beaks on some of both!
    I love sweet peas too, especially the fragrance:)

    I didn’t get around to the party last week so I just looked at your last post and I am so happy you posted large view shots! Everything looks amazing, Oh, the work you have put in… I really like your rock garden walls/beds. And, like you, I appreciate a full garden… less room for weeds:) I can almost smell your lilies from here. Just lovely. Oh, and your house is fabulous! I just love the bungalows.

    Have you inspired your neighbors to plant? Do they come walk through the garden? That was my favorite part when I lived in a neighborhood… all the visitors.

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 19, 2010 at 1:36 am

      Well, thank you so much. The retaining walls were a big project–my husband got a broken up concrete patio from a neighbor two doors down, and he brought in 65 wheelbarrow loads of broken concrete, plus dozens of loads of gravel for the paths! (We don’t have any driveway access to our backyard area, for a while we had side access but no longer, so everthing now has to come up a long flight of stairs up the front of the house–it’s a pain, and I’m really glad all the major hardscape is now put in.) Let’s just say he tends to want to run and hide when I tell him I have an idea for out in the garden! (I have made him several nice BBQ dinners for him out in the pergola, so there are some perks to all the work, too, but he has been more than a good sport.) Our neighbors are great, but they are pretty busy, and so they don’t usually spend as much time gardening as I do. Of course, I’m a little obsessed with it, but I love it! At one time or another they’ve asked for gardening advice, though. I mostly started on this project because I wanted to get rid of lawn and have flowers and vegetables instead.

  7. August 22, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Your hydrangea is beautiful! I have a white one that I love.
    I’d love for you to join us on Weekend Warriors.
    http://itsablogparty.com
    I host a different linky party everyday.
    Come Party With Us!
    ~Liz

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      August 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      Thank you for the invite.

  8. rose gold said,

    August 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Your hydrangeas are gorgeous. I just planted it last 3 weeks and it is really growing fast but doesn’t flower yet. I can’t wait to see my hydrangea blooms.

  9. August 31, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Wow. Do those flowers have sweet fragrance? Because I am now planning to get some from my grandmother since she recently planted some. But they really do look amazing. I thought they would look amazing in line with our doorstep. LOL


Leave a Reply

