Dinner From The Garden Harvest Today

I have tons of mustard greens ready, getting more mature each passing day, and I know that I need to be using them up.  So, we’ll have some greens sauteed in a little olive oil and dressed with lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Then I have some sugar snap peas that are ready, so that looked like it would be good in a fried rice recipe with a little leftover chicken and some shrimp, a couple of scrambled eggs mixed with green onion and roasted red pepper, and if I had them some bean sprouts, but I don’t so I’ll substitute some sliced water chestnuts instead for some crunch.  A healthy, high fiber dinner that is easy to do with food from the garden–yeah!

Here’s a picture:

4 Comments

  1. June 26, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    There really isn’t many things I love better than a big ol’ pot of mustard greens. Mmmmmm…

    • minervasgardenwriter said,

      June 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

      Do you have a recipe that you like to use for cooked mustard greens? I could use some more ideas!

      • June 26, 2010 at 8:26 pm

        I just keep it simple, but probably not healthy. I fry some bacon and onions and saute them. After they are done, I dump grease and all into a pot of mustard greens and let them go for a couple of hours. Some folks substitute ham hocks for bacon or just put lard in the greens. Enjoy!

  2. minervasgardenwriter said,

    June 26, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    That sounds so good–I will try that next time I make greens!


Leave a Reply

